Work In Progress

I have a secret: I rarely like my finished work more than my work-in-progress.

There’s this state midway between the start and completion of a project where everything is magical. You see all the potential that this piece can be, and in its unfinished state it just embodies something raw and awesome.

And then I feel I overwork it. And while it looks polished and finished, the magic, at least from my perspective, vanishes.

I can count the completed works that still manage to retain that special something on one hand, and there is only one piece I can truly say is “done” to the point that I never look at it and think “I could change this a little bit…”

This one!

This one!

My biggest artistic struggle is leaving the art alone.

2 Comments on “Work In Progress

Leave a Reply

