Revisiting Work

Untitled 2013 (Revisited 2015) Digital Photography Kirstin Turnbull

Untitled
2013 (Revisited 2015)
Digital Photography
Kirstin Turnbull

Revisiting old work tends to bring about totally new ways of thinking about it. I abandoned the image above years ago because I decided that it lacked impact and originality. Looking at it again years later, I’ve sort of warmed to it. I began this image at the same time as the Studies series. Both were approaching the same topic, but ultimately I thought the approach in Studies suited the concept best. The veil in this image seemed to make a heavy-handed commentary about marriage, which wasn’t a direction I was interested in going. Now though, I feel this evokes a different message about womanhood that I’m interested in pursuing further.

Leave a Reply

